January 28, 2023

Save the Net Books

Blogazine on Books, Arts, and Music

8 Love Books to Read If You Like Partner Track

It was one of those days when I was reluctant to let go of summer, but I was all too willing to wrap myself in a blanket and watch a marathon on TV. I wasn’t in the mood for a British detective story, nor for my slow walk through New Girl. I wanted something similar to Emily in Paris: fun, transporting (I love Rhode Island, but sometimes I need to be taken far away) and career-based, albeit a bit unrealistic. And then there she was! Ingrid Yun staring at me on the TV screen. The show was trending after all, so I just had to click. Suddenly, I was thrown into the world of merger and acquisition law, Manhattan after-work drinks, and scandal after scandal.

If you couldn’t look away from the first season of Netflix’s partner track, then this is for you. As a reader, I was looking for reading that would make me feel the same as the show. From irresistibly attractive lawyers to ambitious women with very complicated work lives to charming New York locations, I’ve put together a list of books you should read if you like Partner Track.

Romances with hot lawyers

Helen Wan’s partner track

To start off this list of books you should read if you like Partner Track, I have to let you know: In case you missed it, the series is based on a novel by Helen Wan! The premise is very similar. Ingrid Yun worked her way to the bone in a New York law firm. She’s a determined, brilliant Chinese-American woman in a sea of ​​Mad Men-esque characters, and the company unfairly uses her identity to their advantage. However, this book differs from the show in that it’s not half as romantic or charmingly silly as the show. Ingrid’s story is worth reading, especially if you enjoyed the show!

Cover photo of

Partner tracking by Kathy Strobos

I just can’t recommend a list of books to read if you like Partner Track without a few law firm romances! To read about another lawyer in love, dive straight into Partner Pursuit by Kathy Strobos. Aubrey is aspiring to a partner position at the New York City law firm where she works, and her neighbor Jake is just the kind of distraction she doesn’t need (or maybe just the one she desperately needs). Will she have to choose between love and her dream career? Or can she have it all?

The Trouble with Hating You cover

The Problem of Hating You by Sajni Patel

Liya has no interest in dating, especially when her parents are involved. She has enough stress from work without having to worry about her love life. But then the very man her parents want to set her up with ends up at her place of work. And he’s a lawyer. As the sparks fly and conversations flow, Liya isn’t sure what to think. Maybe her parents were right and there’s more to Jay than she initially thought. But are both Liya and Jay ready to open up to each other?

Kissing Books Newsletter

Sign up for Kissing Books to receive news, book recommendations and more for Romancelandia residents.

Thanks for signing up! Keep an eye on your inbox.

By registering, you agree to our terms of use

Stories about successful (maybe workaholic) women

Book cover of How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams: Illustration of the back of a woman wearing a backpack looking at the back of a man seated on a stool

How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams

Just like Ingrid in Partner Track, Naya is almost too devoted to her busy career. She’s smart, passionate, and has worked hard to make ends meet in science. But after a very messy breakup and the possibility that her career might not hold her back forever, Naya decides it’s time to take a risk. She dives back into life with a checklist of fun activities. And then she meets a handsome stranger named Jake. It’s a breath of fresh air – if only they weren’t suddenly forced to work together professionally…

The right swipe book cover

Alisha Rai’s right punch

Rhiannon is a badass businesswoman. She created a unique safe-to-use dating app and has since kept a relatively low profile when it comes to her own dating life. Then the former professional soccer player Samson reappears in her life. She hates to admit it, but Samson’s rejection hurt when he disappeared after their torrid night together. When they meet at a conference, Samson is convinced that Rhiannon should give him another chance. What could possibly go wrong?

Book cover of Lizzy and Jane.

Lizzy & Jane by Katherine Reay

Lizzy has focused on her culinary career in New York City for years. But something feels wrong. When her older sister Jane – with whom she has a fragile relationship, like Ingrid and Lina – is diagnosed with cancer, Lizzy drops everything and joins her sister. Things aren’t any easier in Seattle, though: Lizzy and Jane are often at odds, Lizzy can’t seem to find inspiration to cook, and she has no idea what to do with her growing attraction to sweet, single dad Nick. Can she find her own way forward? And does this path lead back to New York City?

New York Love Stories

Cover for love, chai and other four letter words

Love, Chai and Other Four Letter Words by Annika Sharma

While Partner Track includes just a few select bars and parts of New York City, Love, Chai, and Other Four-Letter Words offers a more comprehensive overview. Kiran is a psychologist who feels like she’s missing out on some fun in life. After hanging out with friends one day, she decides to update her NYC bucket list and have as much fun as possible. But Kiran has burdens on her shoulders. Her family in India has high expectations of her, including the belief that she will only marry someone with a similar background. So what should she do when she sets out to complete her bucket list with the company of her cute, charming neighbor Nash?

book cover of Honey Girl

Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers

If you can’t get enough of the intricate New York City romances, strong female characters and family pressures in Partner Track, then Honey Girl is for you. Grace has a PhD in astronomy. Your life is governed by rules. That’s why she’s more shocked than anyone when she wakes up one morning in Las Vegas with hazy memories and a ring on her finger. Soon the mysterious woman to whom she is married stalks her and the glittering lights of New York City beckon.

If you enjoyed this list of books to read if you like Partner Track, check out 8 Contemporary Romance Novels by Asian Authors. Are you also interested in young adult books? Read some of my favorite YA fantasy books featuring love triangles.