January 30, 2023

Save the Net Books

Blogazine on Books, Arts, and Music

Steve Gunn and Bing & Ruth’s David Moore announce album, share new video: Watch

Bing & Ruth’s Steve Gunn and David Moore have teamed up for the new album Let the Moon Be a Planet. Released March 31st, it is the first volume in Reflections, Rvng Intl’s new series of contemporary collaborations. Watch the video for Gunn and Moore’s new song “Over the Dune” below.

Jason Evans directed the visual for Over the Dune. He said in a statement: “This film is my attempt to inhabit the world that Steve and David created with their album. As with the songs themselves, I’ve tried to find an approach that encourages a child’s light hand and curiosity.”

Gunn and Moore began work on their album remotely before coming together to finish the record in Hudson, New York. It features Gunn on guitar and Moore on piano. “We didn’t know it was going to be an album,” Gunn said in a statement. “There was never any pressure on us to finish or do anything. It was interesting to realize that this could be an album and to take a step back… to come up with a project after the fact.”

Revisit Pitchfork’s reviews of Steve Gunn’s 2022 album Nakama and Bing & Ruth’s 2020 LP Species.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, if you purchase something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Steve Gunn & David Moore: Let the Moon Be a Planet

Let the moon be a planet:

01 Over the dune
02 Picturesque
03 Scatter
04 cymbals
05 morning mare
06 Libration
07 paper link
08 Rhododendrons